Follow the Money/FixMyFunds

As elders many of us depend upon our retirement savings to provide a secure future for ourselves – and perhaps even something for our children or grandchildren. But it doesn’t make sense to be concerned about leaving money to those that we love – if our world and our social systems are all threatened.

We began this campaign with George Monbiot’s article on capitalism, to think more deeply about the connections between money and social injustice.

We’ve learned that the institutions that we trust with our investments are ignoring the financial risks of the climate crisis—investing our money in fossil fuels despite the likelihood of fossil reserves becoming worthless, stranded assets.

Our goal is to leverage our power as investors to ensure we’re invested safely and sustainably by demanding climate-safe investments.

Want to know more?

We’re planning a series of webinars to learn basic steps that we can take, without needing to be financial experts.

FixMyFunds: Leveraging Our Retirement Savings to Demand Climate Safe Funds
Thursday, February 910:00 – 11:30am PT / 1:00 – 2:30pm ET
Register here

FixMyFunds Investors Working Group
Thursday, February 21
10:00 – 11:00am PT / 1:00 – 2:00pm ET
Contact lynnei@eldersaction.org for the Zoom link to join the meeting.

Get into action!

Toolkit: What can you do?

  • Sign the FixMyFunds petition urging asset managers to introduce climate safe products.
  • Attend EAN’s next FixMyFunds webinar on Thursday, February 9 at 10:00am PT / 1:00pm ET. Register here.
  • Demand climate-safe investments from your investment advisor and that they be the default products. Click here for support and advice on holding such a conversation.

We’re just getting started, so join our team! Contact lynnei@eldersaction.org to help with outreach, webinars, communications, and more. Keep checking this webpage for specific actions that you can take.

Money is like water. It can be a conduit for commitment, a currency of love. Money moving in the direction of our highest commitments nourishes our world and ourselves. –Lynne Twist

Back To Top
Loading...